For Fans of The Last of Us

Post-apocalyptic survivor stories you’ll enjoy between episodes

Don’t let the clickers hear you reading ?

If you like The Last of Us, try Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Perfect for readers looking for a haunting work of apocalyptic fiction told from multiple perspectives

An audacious, darkly glittering novel about art, fame, and ambition set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse.

One snowy night a famous Hollywood actor slumps over and dies onstage during a production of King Lear. Hours later, the world as we know it begins to dissolve. Moving back and forth in time-from the actor’s early days as a film star to fifteen years in the future, when a theater troupe known as the Traveling Symphony roams the wasteland of what remains-this suspenseful, elegiac, spellbinding novel charts the strange twists of fate that connect five people: the actor, the man who tried to save him, the actor’s first wife, his oldest friend, and a young actress with the Traveling Symphony, caught in the crosshairs of a dangerous self-proclaimed prophet. 

Sometimes terrifying, sometimes tender, Station Eleven tells a story about the relationships that sustain us, the ephemeral nature of fame, and the beauty of the world as we know it.



“With its wild fusion of celebrity gossip and grim future, this book shouldn’t work nearly so well, but St. John Mandel’s examination of the connections between individuals with disparate destinies makes a case for the worth of even a single life.”

Publishers Weekly

If you like The Last of Us, try The Stand by Stephen King

Perfect for readers looking for a horror story with a flawed band of characters

A patient escapes from a biological testing facility, unknowingly carrying a deadly weapon: a mutated strain of super-flu that will wipe out 99 percent of the world’s population within a few weeks. Those who remain are scared, bewildered, and in need of a leader. 

Two emerge–Mother Abagail, the benevolent 108-year-old woman who urges them to build a peaceful community in Boulder, Colorado; and Randall Flagg, the nefarious “Dark Man,” who delights in chaos and violence. As the dark man and the peaceful woman gather power, the survivors will have to choose between them–and ultimately decide the fate of all humanity.



“A new beginning adds verisimilitude to an already frighteningly believable story, while a new ending opens up possibilities for a sequel.”

Publishers Weekly

If you like The Last of Us, try The Power by Naomi Alderman

Perfect for readers looking for a thought-provoking story where literary fiction meets science fiction

When a new force takes hold of the world, people from different areas of life are forced to cross paths in an alternate reality. 

The world is a recognizable place: a rich Nigerian boy; a foster kid whose religious parents hide their true nature; an ambitious American politician; a tough London girl from a tricky family. When a vital new force takes root and flourishes, their lives converge with devastating effects. Teenage girls and women now have immense physical power– they can cause agonizing pain and even death. 

And everything changes.



“Both the main story and the frame narrative ask interesting questions about gender, but this isn’t a dry philosophical exercise. It’s fast-paced, thrilling, and even funny. Very smart and very entertaining.”

Kirkus Reviews

Looking for more book suggestions?

Check out Parkland Community Library’s booklists or request personalized suggestions!