For Fans of The Mandalorian

Reading is the way ?

We have spoken.

If you enjoy The Mandalorian, try Bonds of Brass by Emily Skrutskie

Perfect for readers looking for a queer space opera that’s action-packed

Ettian’s life was shattered when the merciless Umber Empire invaded his world. Subsequently, he spent seven years putting himself back together under its rule, joining an Umber military academy and becoming the best pilot in his class. Even better, he’s met Gal–his exasperating and infuriatingly enticing roommate who’s made the academy feel like a new home. But when dozens of classmates spring an assassination plot on Gal, a devastating secret comes to light: Gal is the heir to the Umber Empire. Ettian barely manages to save his best friend and flee the compromised academy unscathed, rattled that Gal stands to inherit the empire that broke him, and that there are still people willing to fight back against Umber rule. 

As they piece together a way to deliver Gal safely to his throne, Ettian finds himself torn in half by an impossible choice. Does he save the man who’s won his heart and trust that Gal’s goodness could transform the empire? Or does he throw his lot in with the brewing rebellion and fight to take back what’s rightfully theirs?


“With a brisk plot and emphasis on action, this novel should keep fans of  Skrutskie’s earlier YA work and adult space opera fans alike entertained.”

Nell Keep, Booklist

If you enjoy The Mandalorian, try Artemis by Andy Weir

Perfect for readers looking for a fast-paced, snarky story about space colonization

Clearly, Jazz Bashara is a criminal. Well, sort of.

Life on Artemis, the first and only city on the moon, is tough if you’re not a rich tourist or an eccentric billionaire. So smuggling in the occasional harmless bit of contraband barely counts, right? Not when you’ve got debts to pay and your job as a porter barely covers the rent.

Everything changes when Jazz sees the chance to commit the perfect crime, with a reward too lucrative to turn down. But pulling off the impossible is just the start of her problems. Jazz learns that she’s stepped square into a conspiracy for control of Artemis itself. Without a doubt, her only chance at survival lies in a gambit even riskier than the first.


“A fast-paced adventure from start to nail-biting finish!”

Cynde Suite, LibraryReads

If you enjoy The Mandalorian, try Provenance by Ann Leckie

Perfect for readers looking for an intricately plotted world-building experience

Following her record-breaking debut trilogy, award-winning author Ann Leckie returns with an enthralling new novel of power, theft, privilege, and birthright.

A power-driven young woman has just one chance to secure the status she craves and regain priceless lost artifacts prized by her people. She must free their thief from a prison planet from which no one has ever returned.

Furthermore, Ingray and her charge will return to her home world to find their planet in political turmoil, at the heart of an escalating interstellar conflict. Together, they must make a new plan to salvage Ingray’s future, her family, and her world, before they are lost to her for good.


“Following up her magnificent “Ancillary” trilogy, Leckie wisely moves to a different area of the same universe, showing that she is still interested in nonbinary ideas of gender in this latest character-centered space opera from one of sf’s [science-fiction] brightest stars.

Megan M. McArdle, Library Journal

Looking for more book suggestions?

Check out these posts for titles to add to your TBR, learn more about eBooks, or get familiar with our catalog!