New Graphic Novels for Kids

New graphic novels for readers ages 4 and up!

What do you call a comic drawn only with a pencil?

A graphite novel ✏️

For readers ages 4-8, try Expedition Backyard by Rosemary Mosco

Perfect for nature-loving adventurers that enjoy getting dirty

Each day, Mole and Vole venture out into the world – never forgetting their nature journal! – to see what they can find in their own backyard.

From pigeons and jumping spiders to swamp milkweed and maple trees, these two explorers get to know every part of their local environment. But after an accidental move from the country to the city, Mole and Vole worry that everything will be different. As they explore, they discover plants to look at and animals to meet in their new home as well.

The story of these two best friends brings to life a nonfiction adventure of finding wonder in nature everywhere – no matter where you live. This book concludes with fun activities for kids to do at home.



For readers ages 5-8, try Pizza and Taco Rock Out! By Stephen Shaskan

Perfect for lovers of reading, rock & roll, and a laugh-out-loud story

Pizza and Taco love music! They make lists, and they have tryouts to get more band members. They think they have all the ingredients to rock the scene. But maybe this garage band should stay in the garage!!

This hilarious young graphic novel—with chapters—will tickle the funny bones of kids ages 5 to 8 and bolster their reading confidence. Young graphic chapter books are a great step on the way to graphic novels and longer chapter books.



For readers ages 7-10, try Bad Kitty Supercat by Nick Bruel

Purr-fect for fans of Dog Man and Narwhal and Jelly

It’s been a long time since Kitty has had a play date. So, her owners decide it’s about time she interacts with some friends in Bad Kitty: Supercat, a full-color chapter book in Nick Bruel’s New York Times bestselling series.

But the play date takes a turn when Kitty and her friend, Strange Kitty, don their armor and become…Super Cat and Captain FantastiCat!

Together, they must go on a scavenger hunt across the world (their house and yard) and recover the Orbs of Destiny (some dog balls) in order to prevent the 92 universes from being turned into cheese by the nefarious Dr. Lagomorph….

Will they succeed in their mission? Or will the world as we know it descend into chaos and curds?



For readers ages 8-12, try The Tryout by Christina Soontornvat

Perfect for fans of Smile, New Kid, and Rollergirl

When cheerleading tryouts are announced, Christina and her best friend, Megan, literally jump at the chance to join the squad. As two of the only kids of color in the school, they have always yearned to fit in―and the middle school cheerleaders are popular and accepted by everyone. But will the girls survive the terrifying tryouts, with their whole grade watching? And will their friendship withstand the pressures of competition?

Hilarious and highly relatable, The Tryout by two-time Newbery Honoree Christina Soontornvat and shining new talent Joanna Cacao will make you laugh, cry, and cheer!



For readers ages 8-12, try Newsprints by Ru Xu

Perfect for courageous readers who are not afraid to be themselves

Blue is an orphan who disguises herself as a newsboy. There’s a war going on, and girls are expected to help the struggling economy by selling cookies. But Blue loves living and working at the Bugle, the only paper in town that tells the truth. And what’s printed in the newspapers now matters more than ever.

But Blue struggles with her secret and worries that if her friends and adopted family at the Bugle discover she’s a girl, she’ll lose everything and everyone she cares about. And when she meets and befriends Crow, a boy who is also not what he seems, together they seek the freedom to be their authentic selves… and to save each other.



PCL is a library for kids and families!

Check out our booklists and programs for kids!



Event Calendars

For the most up-to-date events calendar, please view the online calendar here. Get more out of your library by attending programs and events! Our monthly event calendars are available to download below. Libraries have evolved over the years, and PCL is no exception. With our 2021 renovation, we have enlarged our indoor spaces and have…

Continue Reading Event Calendars

Ready, Set, Library!

What’s Happening at Your Library: April 2024 Cheers for Fifty Years! On Saturday, April 13th, 2024, the Parkland Community Library (PCL) is celebrating its 50th anniversary during National Library Week! Join us for a day of music, food trucks, balloons, and more. Read more here: Cheers to 50 Years Celebration. Theme The theme for National Library…

Continue Reading Ready, Set, Library!

Autism Acceptance Matters

Although commonly diagnosed as young as two years old, autism can be diagnosed at any age. Table of Contents Booklist What is Autism? The Spectrum Testing for Autism National Resources State Resources PCL Resources Books Suggestions Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is a developmental disability that affects individuals of all ages. Approximately 1 in every 44…

Continue Reading Autism Acceptance Matters