What We’re Reading for Aquarius Season

The start of the Aquarius Season means new book suggestions for you!

Book of Night by Holly Black

Perfect for unique, rebellious world-builders.

Charlie Hall never found a lock she couldn’t pick, a book she couldn’t steal, or a bad decision she wouldn’t make. She’s spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie. 

Now, she’s trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but going straight isn’t easy. Bartending at a dive, she’s still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic and that her shadowless and possibly soulless boyfriend, Vince, has been keeping secrets from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends back into a maelstrom of murder and lies. 

Determined to survive, she’s up against a cast of doppelgängers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world–all trying to steal a secret that will allow them control of the shadow world and more. 


“Lots of atmospheric world building and stage setting, and perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Neil Gaiman, and V.E. Schwab”.

LibraryReads on Book of Night

If I Survive You by Jonathan Escoffery

Perfect for clever, independent, and truthful Aquarians

In the 1970s, Topper and Sanya flee to Miami as political violence consumes their native Kingston. But America, as the couple and their two children learn, is far from the promised land. Excluded from society as Black immigrants, the family pushes on through Hurricane Andrew and later the 2008 recession, living in a house so cursed that the pet fish launches itself out of its own tank rather than stay. 

But even as things fall apart, the family remains motivated, often to its own detriment, by what their younger son, Trelawny, calls “the exquisite, racking compulsion to survive.


“A revelatory work, full of a young man’s questioning and told in a distinctive voice, this contemplation of identity, culture, and race in the United States today is highly recommended”.

Henry Bankhead, Library Journal on If I Survive You

The Voting Booth by Brandy Colbert

Perfect for assertive, progressive Aquarians who will fight for a good cause

Marva Sheridan was born ready for this day. She’s always been driven to make a difference in the world, and what better way than to vote in her first election?

Duke Crenshaw is so done with this election. He just wants to get voting over with so he can prepare for his band’s first paying gig tonight. Only problem? Duke can’t vote.

When Marva sees Duke turned away from their polling place, she takes it upon herself to make sure his vote is counted. She hasn’t spent months doorbelling and registering voters just to see someone denied their right.

And that’s how their whirlwind day begins, rushing from precinct to precinct, cutting school, waiting in endless lines, turned away time and again, trying to do one simple thing: vote. They may have started out as strangers, but as Duke and Marva team up to beat a rigged system (and find Marva’s missing cat), it’s clear that there’s more to their connection than a shared mission for democracy.


“Readers will find abundant food for thought in this vital fictional account of two teens intent on using their voices and engaging in a political system that makes it difficult for them to participate”.

Tina Dubois, Publishers Weekly on The Voting Booth

Looking for suggestions based on your sign?

Check out our book suggestions for every season!



Food Collection

January & February 2023 Parkland CARES is seeking donations of Granola Bars (Regular Size Boxes)Mac and CheeseCanned Chicken Noodle Soup 10.75 oz.Meal in a Can 15 oz.Apple Sauce Cups or Pouches (No Fruit Cups in Syrup)Please consider donating to this worthy cause this MONTH! We are pleased to announce our continued partnership with our local…

Continue Reading Food Collection

LGBTQ+ Authors at Parkland Community Library

Contemporary and classic queer authors share their stories. Queer stories for a rainbow of readers 🏳️‍🌈 The Thirty Names of Night by Zeyn Joukhador Perfect for readers looking for a coming-of-age immigrant experience Five years after a suspicious fire killed his mother, a closeted Syrian American trans boy sheds his birth name and searches for…

Continue Reading LGBTQ+ Authors at Parkland Community Library