For Fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses

ACOTAR has a hold on our hearts too!

Even the High Fae can’t resist our ACOTAR picks

🧚‍♀️🧚🧚‍♂️

If you enjoy ACOTAR, try In the Ravenous Dark by A.M. Strickland

Perfect for readers looking for a fast-paced romance that will leave you in suspense

In Thanopolis, those precious few gifted with magic are assigned undead spirits who guard them–and closely control them. 

Ever since Rovan’s father died trying to keep her from this fate, Rovan has hidden her magic. But when she accidentally reveals her powers to save a life, she’s bound to one of the undead and thrust into a world of palace intrigue and deception. 

Desperate to escape, Rovan finds herself falling for two people she can’t fully trust: Lydea, a beguiling, rebellious princess; and Ivrilos, the handsome spirit with the ability to control Rovan, body and soul. Together, they uncover a secret that will destroy Thanopolis. To save them all, Rovan will have to start a rebellion in both the mortal world and the underworld, and find a way to trust the princess and spirit battling for her heart–if she doesn’t betray them first.



“A sexy romance for fantasy fans looking for a suspenseful plot set in a dark world. Hand to readers who enjoyed Strickland’s Beyond the Black Door.”

Karen Alexander, School Library Journal

If you enjoy The ACOTAR, try Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Perfect for readers looking for a complex worldbuilder with a strong female lead

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests, and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows—everyone knows—that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn’t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.



“Readers will not falter in their devotion to this inspiring, yet down-to-earth heroine as she takes enormous risks and carves her own place in the world.”

Julia Smith, Booklist

If you enjoy ACOTAR, try House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas

Perfect for readers looking for a steamy, sardonic romance featuring a half-Fae

Bound by blood. Tempted by desire. Unleashed by destiny. 

Bryce Quinlan had a perfect life–working hard all day and partying all night–until a demon murdered her closest friends, leaving her bereft, wounded, and alone. When the accused is behind bars but the crimes start up again, Bryce finds herself at the heart of the investigation. She’ll do whatever it takes to avenge their deaths. 

Hunt Athalar is a notorious Fallen angel, now enslaved to the Archangels he once attempted to overthrow. His brutal skills and incredible strength have been set to one purpose–to assassinate his boss’s enemies, no questions asked. But with a demon wreaking havoc in the city, he’s offered an irresistible deal: help Bryce find the murderer, and his freedom will be within reach. 

As Bryce and Hunt dig deep into Crescent City’s underbelly, they discover a dark power that threatens everything and everyone they hold dear, and they find, in each other, a blazing passion–one that could set them both free, if they’d only let it.



“Maas’s adult readers and fans of Charlaine Harris will devour this ambitious, emotionally charged contemporary fantasy.”

Tamar Rydzinski, Publishers Weekly

Looking for more book suggestions?

Check out these posts for titles to add to your TBR, learn more about eBooks, or get familiar with our catalog!



March News 2024

What’s Happening at Your Library If you stopped by the library in February, thank you! We hope you picked up a heart-shaped stress ball for Library Lover’s Month! Just a little cheer for our patrons this winter from your library! With Winter Reading complete on February 24, we hope the program helped you start your…

Continue Reading March News 2024

Neighborhood Forest

Gives free trees to kids every Earth Day. Parkland Community Library is celebrating Earth Day! We are participating this spring in the 15th annual Neighborhood Forest Free Trees for Kids program. Trees will be distributed during Earth Week (April 22-30). Fill out a simple form. Families will receive a free tree (6–12 inches in size)…

Continue Reading Neighborhood Forest