For Fans of Dungeons & Dragons

Why roll a 1 when you can enjoy these book picks for D&D enthusiasts?

Allow us to be your Dungeon Master

Roll for initiative 🎲

Is your D&D class a Fighter with an attitude? Try Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

Perfect for fans of action-packed, snarky, science fantasy

Gideon has a sword, some dirty magazines, and no more time for undead bullshit.

Brought up by unfriendly, ossifying nuns, ancient retainers, and countless skeletons, she is ready to abandon a life of servitude and an afterlife as a reanimated corpse. Harrowhark Nonagesimus, Reverend Daughter of the Ninth House and bone witch extraordinaire, has been summoned to a deadly trial of wits and skill. If Harrowhark succeeds she will become an immortal, all-powerful servant of the Resurrection. Without Gideon’s sword, Harrow will fail, and the Ninth House will die.

Of course, some things are better left dead. Muir’s Gideon the Ninth unveils a solar system of swordplay, cutthroat politics, and lesbian necromancers. Her characters leap off the page, as skillfully animated as arcane revenants. The result is a heart-pounding epic science fantasy.



“The result is an addictive, genre-bending book  that will wow readers with its vibrant energy, endearing cast, and emotional gut-punch of a finale”.

Publishers Weekly

Is your D&D class a Sorcerer with a sidekick? Try Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Perfect for reluctant readers and fans of graphic novels alike

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta.

As a sidekick and a supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit



“Stevenson’s portrayal of the relationship between good and evil is particularly ingenious, as is her attention to detail and adroit worldbuilding. If you’re going to read one graphic novel this year, make it this one”.

Kirkus Reviews

Is your D&D class a Bard starting a campaign? Try Sunny Rolls the Dice by Jennifer L. Holm

Perfect for readers looking for a diverse cast of characters navigating adolescence

Sunny’s just made it to middle school . . . and it’s making her life very confusing.

All her best friend Deb wants to talk about is fashion, boys, makeup, and being cool. Sunny’s not against any of these things, but she also doesn’t understand why suddenly everything revolves around them.

She’s much more comfortable when she’s in her basement, playing Dungeons & Dragons with a bunch of new friends. Because when you’re sword-fighting and spider-slaying, it’s hard to worry about whether you look cool or not. Especially when it’s your turn to roll the 20-sided die.



“The zippy flow, snappy cartooning, and vibrant colors keep everything upbeat, even when Sunny is running from dreaded gelatinous cubes through dungeon hallways.”

Booklist



Event Calendars

For the most up-to-date events calendar, please view the online calendar here. Get more out of your library by attending programs and events! Our monthly event calendars are available to download below. Libraries have evolved over the years, and PCL is no exception. With our 2021 renovation, we have enlarged our indoor spaces and have…

Continue Reading Event Calendars

Ready, Set, Library!

What’s Happening at Your Library: April 2024 Cheers for Fifty Years! On Saturday, April 13th, 2024, the Parkland Community Library (PCL) is celebrating its 50th anniversary during National Library Week! Join us for a day of music, food trucks, balloons, and more. Read more here: Cheers to 50 Years Celebration. Theme The theme for National Library…

Continue Reading Ready, Set, Library!

Autism Acceptance Matters

Although commonly diagnosed as young as two years old, autism can be diagnosed at any age. Table of Contents Booklist What is Autism? The Spectrum Testing for Autism National Resources State Resources PCL Resources Books Suggestions Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is a developmental disability that affects individuals of all ages. Approximately 1 in every 44…

Continue Reading Autism Acceptance Matters